What if it will make tomorrow better?

I stopped off to get cream on the way home. And firelighters. Now that Spring has sprung, I’m finding greater joy in my morning coffee (with cream), and also getting to the bottom of the wood pile and finding the pieces quite irregularly sized and not so easy to light a fire with.

As I debated with myself about whether or not the extra stop would be worth it, I thought, ‘It will make tomorrow better’. And that, it turns out, was a great motivator and an inspiration for writing this blog too.

Cream in my coffee is a simple pleasure. But when I have it, it makes me love and enjoy my coffee so much more. I relish it. Also, lighting the fire easily reduces a significant amount of ‘fluffing about’. I know that both of these small purchases will make tomorrow’s morning AND evening (if I need to light the fire) a bit easier, a bit nicer- and ultimately a bit better.

So how can we apply this to the classroom? It’s a life thing, right? Do something today that tomorrow will thank you for. Do something now to make tomorrow’s you grateful. Do something today to make tomorrow better…

Every seed we sow might grow into a tree eventually. While cream and firelighters are not a finite answer for anything in particular, they are definitely a symbol of investing in easing tomorrow’s you’s struggles.

So what can you do today that will make tomorrow better?

What can you do this week to make next week easier?

What can you do this year to make next year brighter?

Each small thing might just count more than we think.

Make the stop. Buy the cream. Get the thing to set fire to. It might all be worth it.

I hope this sparks something.

Leave a comment